called to love

May 17, 2008

As a Christian, probably one of the hardest concepts to grasp is the one that is second on the list of “what should make a christian.”  The concept that we, as warriors for god, are called to love everyone.  Not just that nice girl we work with or the pastor at church, but EVERYONE.  That is a huge thing.  In a world that is filled with a lot of deceit and hatred, that seems like an impossible request.  And although Christ says this is one out of two of the most important commandments (Matthew 22:36-40), Christians struggle with this one an awful lot.  We are called to, if nothing else, love god and love people.  The only two reasons why we are made: to love and to be loved by our father.  I have to remind myself daily that I am called to love people.  and not just people, but my enemies.

You have heard that it was said, ‘Love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ But I tell you: Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you. (Matthew 5:43)

That means when I hear someone else talking badly about me or when I have someone treat me like I don’t even exist, I have to love them.  No, I get to love them.  I get to show them the same love and grace that Christ showed me when he died for me on a cross.  I get to love them and turn to my daddy in heaven and say “Forgive them, Lord, for they know not what they do.”

There is a mission group called mission year and their motto is simply this:

“love god. love people. nothing else matters.”

And honestly, I couldn’t agree more.

Leave a Reply

