walking by faith

June 5, 2008

I have many encounters with various types of people throughout my day.  I interact with christians who serve god in everything they do.  I interact with people who go to church and claim to be christians without really practicing what they preach.  Some of my favorite conversations with people, however, have occured recently in one of my classes at school.  The last two days of this class we had been going through this book of “if” questions and then each answering them.  One of my favorite ones was: if you could wistness any historical event, what would it be?  I was suprised when someone in my class said that they would want to witness the crucifiction of Christ.  My teacher quickly responded to this: “oh so you could see if it was real? I can understand that.”

I immediately went into a sort of defense mode in my head as I had just heard my teacher, who I look up to so much, say that the god that i love and worship, might not be real.  My teacher proceded to bring up how the bible was all written by man so how do we know it was not like the Odyssey where it was just written, but none of the events actually occurred.  As the rest of the class was talking about this I was merely sitting and thinking.  She had a point.  And I could see exactly where she could be coming from.  She concluded this topic by saying, “if I am going to believe something, I need to see.”  And right then, without a moment of hesistation, I answered that believing without seeing is what faith is all about.  I saw how she, without ever experiencing this intimacy with god, could think that maybe it was this elaborate story that someone wrote one day but there is no  doubt in my mind that that is not true.  In that moment I was so thankful for my faith.  I was so thankful for that fact that could walk away from that conversation knowing that my god is real.  And he is not just real because I say so or because I think so.  He is real because he has constantly shown himself to me by taking my screwed up life and making it perfect through him.

So I will continue to walk by faith.  I will continue to be completely blind to everything that will happen in my life.  I will continue because my god, my larger-than-life god, has promised that he will lead me every step of the way.

For we walk by faith, not by sight.

2 Corinthians 5:7

Leave a Reply

