Lent Blog #1 (Living Water)

February 17, 2010

So it’s the end of the first day of Lent. In the past I have participated in Lent but I don’t think that I have ever taken the time to reflect on it. I had a teacher who would always say that, “experience without reflection is meaningless.” And I think she was right. So, this year, after admiring the Lenten blog of one of my good friends and former youth pastor, I decided to make a daily blog for Lent myself. I am anxious to see what the Lord shows me when I come daily to reflect on the days leading up to his crucifixion and resurrection.

So we start with Ash Wednesday. A little background about it. In ancient times, ashes were used to signify mourning. Ash Wednesday is the day that we start the trek to the cross by mourning the sins that led Christ there.

Today was also the day that the 40 days of fasting from one thing or another begins. For some people it is Facebook, for some it is chocolate. Some people aren’t really sure why they are giving up something. They are just told that it is what you do. I think that was me for the greater part of my life so far. Everyone else went around talking about what they were giving up and so I found something to give up. I think I tried giving up homework one year but that didn’t fly. This year I pondered for a while about what I was going to give up. What did I use or what did I do on a daily basis that would be hard to give up and make these next 40 days fruitful? That’s when I stumbled upon this:

Living Water Intl., a Christian organization that provides clean drinking water in countries that otherwise would not have it, started a thing called The H2O project. Basically, for two weeks, they are asking people to give up all beverages except water and take the money that they would have spent on those beverages and send it to Living Water International in order that they can build wells where wells are greatly needed. I decided to go the whole 40 days with this challenge. No drink but water for 40 days. It doesn’t sound insanely hard but, even in the first day, I have found that this is going to be difficult. Which, I am excited about. I want to have to struggle with this.

I am looking forward to the next 40 days.

You are coming to show me that I have no need for anything but You. You are coming to stop my mourning. You are coming to write the best love story of all time.

I can’t wait to see what You do.

Leave a Reply

