Lent Blog #2 (Snow)

February 18, 2010

So last Thursday, it snowed in Abilene. Now, I have seen snow before. I went skiing when I was younger in New Mexico and a few times throughout my childhood, it lightly snowed in Houston. But it was not like this. This snow was the first snow that I have ever seen in Texas that actually blanketed the ground. As in, white EVERYWHERE. I rarely look out my window but for some reason I did that morning and when I saw the snow covering everything I couldn’t help but smile. I was a little upset that my morning classes weren’t canceled but being the victim of 8 am classes was beneficial to me on this morning. I got to see the snow before it had been trampled on by 5000 college students. I got to see how fresh it was on the ground and hear the crunch of it beneath my feet rather than the splash of the slush that the day ended with. It was beautiful. It truly had me in awe all day.

I love how intentional God is. His creation is so reflective of so many things. Isaiah 1:18 says:

“Come now, let us reason together,”
says the LORD.
“Though your sins are like scarlet,
they shall be as white as snow;
though they are red as crimson,
they shall be like wool.

I could not stop thinking about throughout the entire snow day. Through all of the snowball fights and football games and building of snowmen that took place that day, my mind kept going back to that. How beautiful it was to see a thing that was representative of how clean I have been made by the cross. Abilene in the winter is not the prettiest sight. The ACU campus is barren and the grass is brown. But, with the snow, it was the most beautiful thing I have ever seen. The snow covered every imperfection and everything was equally as white.

That is how I have been made through the cross. That is how You look at me. As perfect. Blameless. Because of your son, who died on a tree for me.

It needs to snow more often.

“Wash me white as snow and I will be made whole.”

One Response to “Lent Blog #2 (Snow)”

  1. ooohh….i REALLY like this one.

    let’s forever mentally tether snow to the cross.
    beautiful.

Leave a Reply

