Lent Blog #3 (Planning)

February 19, 2010

I have always been a planner. I have gotten a lot better about it as I have matured but I try to plan EVERYTHING. Since I was in the 8th grade, I have been so sure of what my plans were going to be the summer after my freshman year of college. I know, I was only five years in advance.

And God smashed them all (in a GREAT way).

Growing up, I went to a camp called Pine Cove. It was an incredible place and it is where I came to know the Lord. All through my time going there, I knew that I wanted to work there and I was affirmed time and time again that it would be the perfect place for me. So every year I waited until, finally, I was old enough to apply. I was so sure I was going to get the job. I mean, I went to Pine Cove. I knew Pine Cove. This is what God wanted for me, right? I interviewed and anxiously awaited as one by one my friends heard that they would be working there. And finally I heard. I didn’t get the job. And I was strangely at peace about the whole thing. I mean, I dreaded having to tell people and then have them feel sorry for me, but I was really okay with the whole thing. I have a friend who constantly tells me that “there is no such thing as rejection, just re-direction.” And I truly felt that.

After that, I started to search through the other Pine Coves that I have in my life. I mean, how many other things have I planned out so meticulously that I leave no room for God to work? And He will and is.

I get to go to Brazil this summer. And I am working at an awesome place called Camp Ozark. And God is going to work. Neither of these things could I have done if I was working at Pine Cove this summer. Pine Cove is a great place. And I will probably reapply next year. I know that God is going to do huge things through the summer staff that will be there this year. And He is going to do equally huge things through me in Brazil and a in small town in Arkansas.

So, I am giving up all of my Pine Coves. I am going to stop planning things and allow for God to be God.

You are in control, Lord. Send me where You want me to go.

Leave a Reply

