Lent Blog #4 (Life)

February 20, 2010

I love people. My relationships with people are, behind God, the most important thing in my life. I can have all of the money or success or fame in the world but if I have no one to share it with, what good is it? I also love cultures. I think it is so cool to look at how people vary from culture to culture and yet still stay so much the same. My life is completely different from a 19 year old living in Africa or South America but our ultimate goals are guaranteed to be somewhere along the same lines. And I love that. I love that there are certain human characteristics that bind us. Which is why this video captured my attention at 4 in the morning this morning.

It is rather lengthy but I enjoyed it. Basically it is a video where 50 people were asked one question. The whole point of the video is to explore human connections through people and place. The people that were interviewed came from all walks of life. They could not be more different in some ways. And in others, they were exactly the same.

Anyway, as I fell asleep last night I thought about this video. I thought about the fact that I want to be the one asking those 50 people that question. I want to travel to those different cultures and see the similarities and differences between them and my own. I love my life, don’t get me wrong, but my world concept is so limited and I want to expand that. I think that is a huge part of living: seeing the beauty of the people that God created.

For a while now I have had a bucket list. Basically a list of things that I want to accomplish in life. The list is constantly growing but one of the major things on that list is to visit every continent at least once. I was thinking about this desire as I was watching the video. I have such a desire to travel. I think it is so crucial to life. But, it comes back to the whole desire I have to plan things. If I make it a goal to make it to as many nations as I can, those traveling adventures become a to-do list. Those people become a to-do list. And people should never be a to-do list. Letting life happen makes those experiences so much more meaningful. As the saying goes. “Que sera sera.” Or, “What will be, will be.” I am not in control of that. God is.

Lord. Introduce me to Your loved ones. Let me love Your kids like You love them, whether they are in Kenya or Abilene, Texas.

You have already given me life and life to the fullest.

One Response to “Lent Blog #4 (Life)”

  1. idk if it is my media background/mind that finds that video interesting/entertaining or my outlook on life.

    Either way, great post, and great video.

    But, like you said, “I think that is a huge part of living: seeing the beauty of the people that God created.”

    Isn’t it amazing that there is not ONE person that is the same as another in the ENTIRE world? That blows my mind.

    And people say there isn’t a God … psh.

Leave a Reply

