Lent Blog #6 (Adultery)

February 22, 2010

I am adulterous. We are adulterous. Let me explain.

I had a friend in high school who constantly went back to this guy who was all wrong for her. I mean, they were on and off again so much. She knew there was something missing in her life and so she sought it from this guy. And time and time again he hurt her, and time and time again I comforted her as she cried. I didn’t mind comforting her. I love being there for people and I often used those times as a way to tell her that she could only be satisfied through God and that He loved her more than anyone else could. After a while though, after listening to her countless times, I did have one question: why did she keep going back to this guy? Yes there were good times with him but inevitably she would always end up hurt in the end. So what made her continue to go back?

I got to thinking about her last night and I started to wonder how many times God asks that question: “Allison, why are you going back to that? That will never make you happy.” And eventually I realize that and I go to the Lord and He comforts me and reminds me of His love and then I run right back to it all. In our world, we are taught to look for temporary highs. They are EVERYWHERE. Fame, money, sex, drugs. You name it. We are told that those things will make us happy, and they do for a time, but they are not lasting.

This is a short video about Tom Brady where he talks about just that. He has everything he could ever want. He has his hands on every temporary high the world has to offer, and he knows that there has got to be something more.

I know what that something else is and yet, I still find myself looking for something to fulfill me.

There is song by Derek Webb called “Wedding Dress.” If you have never heard it you should give it a listen. It is a song about the adulterous church. It is about how satisfied we are by other lovers when our God, our groom, is more than enough. In thinking about this, I tried to think of my marriage. How would my future husband feel if I was with another man? I would never do that. I know that I am going to be so in love with him that I will stay faithful. But how many times do I leave God for other things? Things that I am told will make me happy.

I am sorry, my love. I am sorry that I have been unfaithful. You satisfy me, Lord.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

