Lent Blog #8 (Rain and Stained Glass Windows)

February 24, 2010

I love conversing with people. I can stay in one place for a good two hours if I have a good conversation keeping me there. I particularly enjoy conversations with my friend, Jason. We talk about the most random things. I mean, things that you would never think would come up in casual conversation. Tonight, as I was sitting eating dinner with Jason in The Bean (our dining hall), we got on the topic of Seattle which brought us to rain which lead Jason to tell me about the thought that he had the other day about a society that embraces rain.  A society that, instead of going to hide from rain, just went about life as normal. That instead of sheltering everything, just let it be. When he first mentioned it, I kind of stared at him for a minute, letting that idea soak in. And the more I thought about it, the more I loved it. We, as a society, run from rain. And with good cause. I mean, no one wants to get soaking wet. But, the thing is, God invented the rain, too. It is just as beautiful as the sun not because of the effects but because of the creator. What if we embraced the rain? What if we stopped worrying about what a little water will do and instead of sprinting as fast as we can to our next destination, we walk and enjoy a different side of God’s creation?

Naturally, we do this in life, too. When the ugly days come we barrel down and run until we can find some shelter. We tend to be so wrapped up in getting through it that we don’t stop to see the beauty in it. And there IS beauty in it. In 2 Corinthians, the Lord says, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” His power is made perfect in the rainy times. In the times that we do anything to stay out of. God works in those times. I think I forget that too much. I forget to see the beauty because it is not there on the surface.

I once heard a comparison of our lives to a stained glass window. Close up, stained glass windows are not pretty. They are jagged pieces of glass that are rough to the touch. That is how we see our lives most of the time. Up close. In the moment. And a lot of times we see it as rough. But the further back you get from a stained glass window, the more beautiful it becomes. And that is how God sees our lives. He sees the whole, big picture. He sees them as a masterpiece. As something beautiful. The more we can see our lives from that perspective, the prettier those rough times will be.

Lord, let me embrace the rain. Let me see the entire stained glass window.

Leave a Reply

