Lent Blog #10 (Prayer)

February 26, 2010

So I was just about to head to bed tonight when I realized that I hadn’t written my blog for the day. And, while it is rather late, these muses of mine have been nice to write out for the past couple of days. So, even though it is rather late, I am writing.

As I lie in bed, just before I fall asleep each night, the last thing I do is talk to God. I usually reflect on my day and thank him for giving me not only mercy but grace as well. I pray for those around me or specific situations and then I drift to sleep. And, as I was about to fall asleep tonight and I was talking to God I started to notice a trend in my prayers. They don’t stretch beyond a few hundred miles. Maybe a thousand, at most. Sure I pray for my family and friends and when the earthquake first happened in Haiti, I prayed for that. But, the world needs prayer. Every part of it. When I was in Africa, I prayed for the people in the slums every night. I saw people suffering in ways that I couldn’t have imagined but I can maybe count on one hand the amount of times I have prayed for the people of Kibera since being home. There is still so much work to be done in Haiti. So much that needs praying for down there. There are still people all over the world that are being persecuted for their faith and others that don’t even have a faith. We have a beautiful world, but there is also so much hurt in it and so many things that are not as God intended them to be that prayer is essential. We need it.

Prayer is powerful. And God answers it. Not always how we want and not always immediately but He does answer. I want my prayers to reach outside of Abilene. Outside of Texas. Outside of the United States. I want my prayers to affect people in Asia and Australia and South America. God is working through people in those places and they most certainly need praying for.

God, give me a prayer life that exceeds where I have been or what I have experienced. May my prayer affect people of all nations. And, ultimately, may your will be done.

Leave a Reply

