Lent Blog #12 (Hockey)

February 28, 2010

So I am sitting here, watching the USA vs Canada hockey game and rather enjoying it. Both teams are playing a fantastic game and I am excited to see how it is going to turn out. Obviously, being an American, I am rooting for USA to win but I have no invested hatred in Canada and, honestly, I would be just fine if they won. I mean, don’t get me wrong. I love how the Olympics have a tendency to unite countries. Once every two years, whole countries are rooting for the same team. And I love that. But, in thinking about it, I can’t remember who had the highest medal count at the last winter Olympics. I can assume that it was America, because it has been for the last several Olympics, but I can’t recall how many medals they had or even who brought in those medals. And yet, right now, the US hockey team and all of America, myself included, are hoping and praying to bring a gold medal out of this game.

I think, in life, we have a tendency to focus on things that we don’t have rather than what we do have. Most of what we do in life is to gain things. The US and Canadian hockey teams are playing their hearts out to gain a gold medal. I am in college to gain a college degree. And one day I will get a job to gain money. Everything is for gain. But I, for one, don’t focus on what I have enough. I don’t focus on the incredible education that I have already received or the multiple blessings that I have already been given. Instead, I focus on what else I can do, what else I can gain.

Which is why I love salvation. I can’t gain that. I can’t earn that. I can’t get more salvation than one person or another. I can receive it. Or I can not. I have chosen to receive it. I have been given the best thing that I could have ever asked for, on this earth and beyond, but I still look for more. I still look for other things to gain. But, I have it all. And I need to focus on that far more often.

Lord, you have given me more than I could ever gain. Thanks for that.

And an update: Canada won. Good for them. They played with heart and they deserved it. And, in my lifetime, I will forget who Sidney Crosby is. Second best in a sport out of close to 200 countries in the world is not too shabby in my book. So, God bless the USA and God bless Canada.

Leave a Reply

