Lent Blog #16 (Rest)

March 4, 2010

I took sleep for granted my entire life. I don’t remember taking many naps as a child but I do remember feeling satisfied when I woke up every morning. Sleep was just another thing I did as a child. But, sleep is precious. College has made me realize this. Sleep is a wonderful thing.

A few days ago, I had a test in math. I needed to pass and so I thought it was a good idea to stay up all night studying. I mean, ALL night. I was fine until about 10 the next morning, when I crashed. Fast. The one thing that I wanted to get me through the morning was a cup of coffee. Which, I couldn’t have because I have been fasting from every drink but water. And as I went through my morning, I realized that I had to rely on something else to give me strength and keep me going until I could get some sleep. Who better to give me strength than the creator of it. All morning long I prayed for endurance. I prayed for discipline in keeping away from coffee.

And after I had done all I needed to for the day, I went back to my dorm and took a nice long nap. And the Lord gave me the best sleep I have had in quite sometime. I was completely rejuvenated and I realized that true rest can only come through God which, for a college student such as myself, is fantastic news.

God, grant that I might always seek to rest in you. You are my strength.

Leave a Reply

