Lent Blog #23 (“I am He.”)

March 11, 2010

There are so many things that I love about the story of the cross. So many beautiful things wound into it that I could read a million times and it would still break me down every time. One of the things that I take note of every time is the amount of times that Jesus could have turned around. The amount of times that He could have just as easily said, “I’m out.” And He didn’t.

I can’t imagine when the magnitude of Christ’s destiny hit Him. The moment that He truly understood the cost. But I do know that from that moment on He was in complete control to turn around at any time. It especially blows my mind in that last week. When Christ is standing on top of the hill, about to ride into Jerusalem. He knew that these people were going to betray Him. He knew that they would be the ones shouting, “Crucify Him” in a week. And yet he rode right on in.

And then there was in the Garden of Gethsemane. Christ was getting cold feet. He could have easily prayed right then and there for this to all end and yet, He didn’t. Instead He prayed, “not my will, but Yours be done.” (Luke 22:42)

The book of John accentuates the fact that, while it was His crucifixion, Christ was in control the whole time. To me, this is the biggest proof that Christ did this out of love. He CHOSE this. When the guards came to arrest Jesus, He asked them, “Who is it you want?” “Jesus of Nazareth,” they replied. “I am He,” Jesus said. When Jesus said, “I am He,” they drew back and fell to the ground. (John 18:4-5) The power of the “I AM” brought the guards to their knees in submission. Jesus had already won right there. He could have walked out of that garden without a scratch. But, as you know, He didn’t. He had a job to finish.

So many chances to back out. So many times He could have given up on me. And He didn’t. I serve a loving God.

Jesus, You never cease to amaze me. You could have saved yourself. You chose to save me. Wow. Thank You.

Leave a Reply

