Lent Blog #26 (Unconditional)

March 14, 2010

I was upset with my mother for the greater part of the day today. She, my sister, and I drove down to spend the day in Houston and on the way we got into a little fight and I spent the entire rest of the day wishing I was anywhere but where I was. I suppose my thought process was to remain as quiet as possible for the rest of the day and cause her to feel bad for the whole argument. Apparently I am six. I was throwing a tantrum. It may not have seemed to have been that on the surface, but, underneath, it was a tantrum.

My family are some of the hardest people for me to love. I do love them and I always will but, it is so hard to handle every situation with them in a loving, Christ-like way. I mean, they see me at all times. It’s not that I become a different person at home but, the slip ups that other people may not see, my family sees. And that is rough. But, halfway through my pity-party of a day, I reminded myself of what Jesus would do. He had a family too. And I am sure that He and His mother disagreed on a thing or two. But, He did not falter in His love for her. He did not desire to serve her any less than He did anyone else.

1 Corinthians 13:5 says that love “is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs.” And I did all of those things today. I am called to love but I was so easily upset by an argument that I held a stupid grudge all day.

As crazy as it may sound, God shows me what unconditional love looks like daily through my dog. Yeah, a dog. Due to us being out later than we thought tonight, we didn’t feed Boomer until a good 5 hours after he is used to being fed. And after he was finally able to eat, he wasn’t mad at us for taking so long. He didn’t hold a grudge because we didn’t feed him on time. He went right on loving us. It might seem like a unlikely teacher but that lesson was one that I needed today.

God, give me strength to love like you love. Especially when it is hardest to.

Leave a Reply

