Lent Blog #28 (Car Troubles)

March 16, 2010

Last night was an adventurous one. I was visiting a friend in Houston and, as I was on the way home, my car broke down. Doesn’t sound that eventful. But, as I am driving home at almost 2 a.m. on I-45, the side of the highway is the last place I want to be stuck. As the car broke down, I was able to pull over to the median on the side of I-45 and I immediately went into panic mode. First, it was late and I was ready to be home. And second, I had no idea who to call. It was late and I knew that my mom and sister had work the next morning so I wasn’t going to call them. I also thought that it was a lack of gas issue at first so my immediate thought was who I was going to call to come and bail me out.

After thinking through every person that I know that may have already been up at that time, I finally called my older sister who, by the way, is the best. I don’t give her enough credit. Erin, at 2 in the morning, drives out to I-45, I hop in her car, and we go grab some gas. We get back to my car, still stranded on the side of a major interstate highway, and, after filling it with gas, we discover that it is not a gas problem. This is when we decide to call my mother and wake her up.

At this point in the night, I feel awful. I have woken up both my older sister and my mother, who both have work early the next morning. My mom drives out to meet us, we call a tow truck driver, and then the three of us sit and wait on the side of a freeway until 4 in the morning. At one point, I turned to my mom and sister and asked them why they had driven out to help me. I mean, they just as easily could have left me to wait for the tow truck driver by myself. Her response was this, “You are my daughter. Of course I am going to come help you.”

I thought about what she said later that night as I was falling asleep. “You are my daughter.” I thought of how many times I get stuck in life. How many times I need help on a day to day basis. And how many times, without me asking, my God comes to my side to bail me out. I imagine that if I were to ask Him why he comes to help me out every time, His response would be, “You are my daughter. Of course I am going to come help you.”

Daddy, Thanks for Your constant help. Without me even having to ask.

Leave a Reply

