Lent Blog #30 (Aroma of Christ)

March 18, 2010

My little sister is my best friend. I love her more than I could describe. She is the coolest person and daily I get to see her turn into an awesome woman of God. I love getting to watch her grow. This is why I was so excited when I heard that she was going to get to go on a mission trip to Prague during her Spring Break. This was to be her first long distance mission trip and I knew when she first told me about it that God was going to use her in powerful ways. On Friday she left for the Czech Republic and, while I miss her like crazy, I cannot wait to hear the stories that she will bring back.

My little sister going on her first big mission trip reminded me of my first big mission trip to Africa. I thought of my prayer during that trip and I prayed a similar one for my little sister. When I was in Africa, John Hull talked to us about being the “Aroma of Christ” while we were there. 2 Corinthians 2:15 says, “For we are to God the aroma of Christ among those who are being saved and those who are perishing.” That verse was a reminder for us throughout the trip. And that is what I am praying for Stephanie to be.

The words that Paul chose are key. Aroma. An aroma can not be avoided. You can try and cover up and aroma but it still remains. It fills every crack and every crevice. It is all-encompassing. And that is what I was in Africa. That is what Stephanie is in Prague. And that is what we both should try to be daily no matter where we are.

Lord, Allow me to be Your aroma that I may fill every place around me with You.

Leave a Reply

