Change

June 12, 2010

I have never been a fan of change. I think most people are this way. Most people, to a certain extent, are okay with things staying the way that they are. Most people, of which I am foremost, hate change. I get in a routine and I want to stay in that routine. Any change that may upset that routine, whether it be good or bad, is not welcome.

Unfortunately for me, change is inevitable. And usually it ends up being a good thing because I see what God is doing through it but at first, it flat out sucks. There has been a lot of change happening recently. I feel like the way it always goes is, as one thing changes, more and more things start to change. Or at least I become more adept to seeing those changes. I even saw change in the cups that Potbelly uses today and reacted slightly.

I think the thing about change that I have always hated is that, most of the time, it means goodbyes. I have always found it weird that people can come into your life, impact it, and then leave, sometimes before you even realized what that person taught you.

I am good with people and I am typically good with words but I can never seem to find enough of the right words to properly thank a person for the impact that they have had on my life. Heck, sometimes that person doesn’t even know that they did a thing. I feel like lately, as I go from college to home to summer job at Ozark to Brazil, the rate at which impacting people come in and out of my life is alarmingly fast. I went to orientation and worked first session at Ozark, formed awesome relationships that totally pushed and encouraged me toward the Lord, and then was gone, never to see some of those people again, before I knew it.

I guess all of this goes to say this: In a world that is constantly changing, where people are constantly coming in and out of my life, where sometimes I feel like I don’t have one second to catch my breath before moving onto the next big thing, and where sometimes I make a mistake before even realizing it is one, I am thankful for a consistent God. I am thankful that my Savior is the same today as he was yesterday and as he will be tomorrow. He loves me the same. He does not waiver. Does not change. Does not leave for a season. It reminds me that He is merely using those relationships to help me to grow. He is using those people only as supporting players but He is desperate to show me that He is the star who maintains throughout the entire show.

I am thankful for at least one constant in this world: A God who loves me more than I can fathom.

Leave a Reply

