Brasil #1 (Futbol)

June 15, 2010

So, after 10 hours on a plane, I arrived in Brasil yesterday morning to one of the warmest greeting I may have ever recieved. I immediately knew that I was going to love this place. This being only my second time to leave the country, I had no idea what to expect. I have never been to South America,  I had barely heard an entire sentence of Portuguese in my life, and I  felt as if I had no idea what to expect. Basically, I thought I was going to be completely and totally thrown out of my comfort zone. And I was right. I have been here for less than 48 hours and, already, God has ripped me out of my comfort zone and thrown me into something wonderful.

Basically yesterday was just a rest day. I got to know the people that I was going to be doing ministry with for the next month. And they could not be a better group of people. I am pumped.  Today was even better than yesterday. The morning started with a meeting about what to expect for camp and then I got to experience the watching of the first Brasil World Cup game in Brasil which was kind of awesome. The entire country shut down for 90 minutes to cheer on their team. It was, in my opinion, community at it´s finest.  And I love it.

Within minutes of the futbol game starting, I had developed close friends and community just over the fact that we were cheering for the same team. And that only lended itself to deeper community. The hardest part about living in Brasil is the language barrier. I have learned some Portuguese but I still have, in no way, the ability to hold a conversation by any means. This proves difficult in communicating but somehow, during the futbol game, I forgot that we were speaking two different languages and instead just got to bond over a common interest. I love it when God breaks down language barriers.

Then the real pleasure of the day came. After the game and after hanging out with some of the kids from the youth group, I got to go to my home for the next few weeks and meet my new family. They are wonderful. My ´father` and the kids speak English pretty well but my ´mother` struggles with a lot of words and so all through dinner they were translating and making sure that everyone at the table could be apart of conversation. It was so cool. My ´father`started out the dinner praying both in English and in Portuguese. I felt welcomed and learned so much from this family in just one night.  I am a stranger from another country and the first thing they told me is that their house is my house.

Before she went to bed my mother came upstairs to me and, though it took awhile, searched for the words in English to tell me how glad she was I was there and if I needed anything at all to ask her. There is love here. I can already tell that I am not going to want to leave in a month. I am already praying that God brings me back here one day, maybe even to live.

I can´t wait to see what tomorrow brings.

Leave a Reply

