Sinning On Easter

April 23, 2011

I have heard the Easter story countless times. I have seen many a felt story board depiction of what it might have looked like when Jesus rose and I have the lyrics to “Christ The Lord is Risen Today” memorized from singing it so much. I have known my entire life that I was a sinner and that I had a God who loved me despite those sins. I still know this now.

A false notion that I had growing up was that it was worse to sin on Easter. I knew that I was going to sin all the time but when Easter rolled around, I was on my best behavior. I had this idea like, “Yeah, God has grace but not on Easter.” I remember one year when I was little saying something mean to my little sister on the car ride home from church and I felt the worst. It was like you treat someone on their birthday. You are so nice to that person. You may make fun of them every other day of the year but that day is their day. This was my thinking.

Needless to say, I was wrong. Easter is Grace. That is what we are celebrating, a God of complete and astonishing Grace. Ephesians 2:8 says that it is by GRACE that we have been saved through faith. That means that I can never earn it. I can’t earn that Grace by being perfect on Easter. I can’t gain that Grace by singing every hymn. Grace is being given something that you can’t deserve. I can’t deserve it.

And so, despite my best efforts, I will sin tomorrow. And while I should have to suffer the consequences of that sin, I won’t have to. I won’t have to because of a man who died and rose again 2000 years ago.


Leave a Reply

